Queen of the Circus

24 Jul

Image

Hello my name is Xylia and I’m a circus addict. Well more of an aerial performing addict…

I came to circus by chance. I was part of a dance troupe and was also an avid vertical dance student but I was looking for other skills to add to my repertoire. I heard about circus introduction days that were taking place at a London circus school and I signed up. I tried a variety of different circus skills including the flying trapeze, juggling, stilt walking, acrobalance and tightrope walking but fell in love with the static trapeze – straight away. I put my name on a waiting list and it took a year for me to be be given a place but I have to say that it was really worth the wait. I fell in love instantly.

Some 3 years later and I’m still hung up on circus, fitting in classes around my full-time work. Although my main practice is in static trapeze I have also taken classes in cerceau, corde lisse, silk sling and the swinging trapeze at schools across London which include, The Circus Space, Aircraft Circus (The Hangar), My Aerial Home and Gorilla Circus. I’m not a professional aerialist, I’ve never performed – although I plan to in a low key way very soon – and I feel as if I still have more to learn so that I become better but I’m up for the challenge.

Through my blog I hope to share various tips, history and my expansive love for all things aerial, for all things circus. Maybe I can even tempt a few of you over to the other side with me – the circus side…. See you there!

Photo credit: “Circus Alphabet”, Whitman Tell-A-Tale Book, 1954. Illustrations by Patric Hudson

8 Responses to “Queen of the Circus”

  1. insidesoutgirl February 27, 2013 at 6:09 am #

    Me and a few aerialist friends from the states are coming to London this weekend and next week and we desperately are trying to book some private lessons and classes at Aircraft and maybe another studio but its hard to get a quick straight answer about how to pay in advance. I really hope we get to work with someone there but do you have a certain place in mind that has silks and lyra at least and offers drop-ins or privates that are worth the trip for those who have been training for 1.5-4 years? Any help would be MUCH appreciated!

    • circusgirlblog February 27, 2013 at 7:59 pm #

      Hi,

      Aircraft Circus is definitely a great place to train and from my experience they make it pretty easy and straight forward to pay in advance. You just go on to their website http://www.aircraftcircus.com and they use paypal for advance payment.

      You can also try Gorilla Circus who are on http://www.gorillacircus.com and ask for Debs who is one of my favourite teachers of all-time and she teaches silks and lyra for all levels.

      You can also try Circus Glory which is run by a former Cirque Du Soleil performer (who is another of my all-time favourite teachers) who I have also trained with and she is awesome. Just email her.

      I hope that this helps. Have a fantastic time in London!!

      • insidesoutgirl February 27, 2013 at 8:17 pm #

        Wow! Thank you for all this info!

      • circusgirlblog February 27, 2013 at 8:19 pm #

        My pleasure. I had the same situation when I was looking to train in New York – it definitely helps to have insider knowledge! Enjoy!

      • insidesoutgirl March 1, 2013 at 6:49 am #

        Waiting for a response from Gorilla Circus to try flying trap and booked our two private lessons at Aircraft!!! Super thrilled! Thanks for the recommendations again!

      • circusgirlblog March 1, 2013 at 3:18 pm #

        That’s brilliant news – I’m pleased to hear this! I hope that you have a great time training in London. Just a tip though (As it’s a little out of the way if you’re not from London) be sure to leave ‘plenty’ of extra time for travelling to Aircraft Circus.

      • insidesoutgirl March 1, 2013 at 5:26 pm #

        Thank you very much we certainly will!!!! :)))

    • circusgirlblog February 27, 2013 at 8:00 pm #

      It’s http://www.circusglory.co.uk

Leave a Reply

